When’s the Right Time to Stop?

As a feminist, you can become very open to other ways of living for example some women prefer to grow their underarm hair or free bleed or become housewives or be working mums. You might not necessarily practice these things but defend them in light of the fact that they’re being challenged for not living according to the status quo. As a feminist, I hate to say  but we can equally become very judgemental. When I saw this picture, the open minded, understanding and pluralistic Esther that I have become suddenly vanished at the drop of a dime. I cringed. Paused. Then I wanted to know more and why these infants old enough to walk and construct sentences were at their mother’s bosom.

The lady in this picture is Chelsea Craig who nurses both of her girls simultaneously. Craig stressed to People magazine that it’s not her intention to become an activist for breastfeeding as each woman varies. That’s exactly what she encourages us to embrace, the fact that we’re all different and people will place judgment  regardless. She also stresses that”This is how my girls feel nurtured and connected…I don’t nurse to prove a point, and I don’t nurse to declare my superiority. I nurse for my girls.” One can’t deny that it’s a beautiful expression and very sentimental once we understand Chelsea’s reasons for continuing to breastfeed her girls.

However, my question is does this go on till they’re 10? 20? 25? Once they’re ready to flee the nest? And then they can pay some occasional visits and get some long awaited milk. I’m not sure how it works and I can’t help but think of the saying “All good things must come to an end”. But when? When isn’t it okay? If she’s nursing at 10 then 12 is okay but then so is 15 so I guess 18 is perfect right? Status quo would probably be when they’re a year old maximum because their way of reasoning is different.

I thought to myself I need some expert advice and Freud was the first to come to mind. The Oedipus complex is a psychoanalytic theory, a desire for sexual relations with the parent of the opposite sex and can often end up in having some sort of rivalry with the parent of the same sex. According to Freud this occurs during ages 3-6. What I’m trying to bring out is breasts are sexual depending on context and age has a lot to do with context. I might  be getting my knickers in a twist here because in this particular instance these are daughters and their mother (same sex) so what are the dynamics here?

I guess this is what I get for being a curious journalist. But I would love to hear you views and comments. Please comment below 🙂 xxx

 

 

 

 

 

