Marc Jacobs? Really?

“…funny how you don’t criticise women of colour for straightening their hair..” “I don’t see colour ?” ” I don’t see colour or race” “Love is the answer?”

At New York fashion week Marc Jacobs thought it would be cool to have models rock faux locs on the runway. I agree that was pretty cool but there was a one issue. The majority of his models were caucasian and he failed to use women of colour who have natural locs. I sound petty right? Here’s why it’s an issue. That was one blunder but he made another one when he wrote an essay on Instagram.

“All who cry ‘cultural appropriation’ or whatever nonsense about any race or skin colour wearing their hair in any particular style or manner – funny how you don’t criticise women of colour for straightening their hair,” he wrote on Instagram. “I respect and am inspired by people and how they look. I don’t see colour or race – I see people..”

If I had time to carry out discourse analysis on every word he used, you would grasp that he is not sorry and doesn’t quite get what he’s done wrong.

Number one: “funny how you don’t criticise women of colour for straightening their hair”. Lets just make it clear that women of colour doesn’t come under appropriating a culture, in some instances we’ve felt coerced to wear our hair straight because of the fear of rejection,  in some cases it’s the actual rules of particular institution that force us to straighten our hair.For instance South African schools.

There are some deep seeded issues Marc. I don’t think Gigi Hadid or Kendall have deep seeded issues that pressured them into wearing faux locs. May I add that some women of colour are born with straight hair, it’s not that simple to just label black women straightening their hair as cultural appropriation.

Number two:  “I don’t see colour or race – I see people..”.  I do, if you say you don’t, you’re lying. Here’s why. Take a look at the grass, what colour is it? Green? Oh no wait I don’t see colour. To see my colour is not an offence, to disregard it is. End of story.

Number three: “Love is the answer”. Now what has that got to do with the fact that when a woman of colour is wearing her natural locs it is deemed as dirty or unkept? For instance, the time when Zendaya wore faux locs she was dragged all over social media. But when the had Hadids and the Jenners do  it, it’s oh so cool.

Seriously Marc you’re a bright and talented amazing man. I really hope you would keep quiet for a while and stop with the faux apologies, sit back and think deeply about your concepts and what they portray.