AFRO-COLOMBIAN LEADER EMILSEN MANYOMA BEHEADED

When I decided to write about this devastating news, I actually paused and realised I didn’t have much to say because I was overwhelmed with so much emotion. I didn’t know the human rights activist, Emilsen but I was shocked and extremely saddened, despite the fact that I heard the news two months later.

As an outspoken black female, I felt beheaded, assassinated – just like her, because if I was at the wrong place at the wrong time it would’ve been me too. But I realised I was still here and had to be amongst the other black women taking up the baton.

This is just a reminder that racism hasn’t just vanished into thin air. It is also a reminder that it’s time we rise and not play the victim and be active in promoting the causes we feel so passionately about.

The intention of her murder was to silence her- but it has actually made people more aware about her  and her work. I never heard about her until I heard about her death.

Our thoughts are with her friends and family.

